26th Annual Song Contest Results

Song ContestSan Diego Songwriter’s Guild 26th Annual Song Contest was held Sunday, June 3rd, 2018 at KO Underground. The contest is a popular tradition for San Diego writers, and offers a unique opportunity to hear a tremendous cross section of local work by San Diego songwriters. Prize winners were selected by a panel of industry professionals, During the evening song entries were played for both judges and audience to hear. After all the songs were listened to, winners were announced, and prizes awarded.

Thanks to everyone who participated in the 26th annual song contest. All the songs entered were amazing. San Diego definitely has a lot of talent. Here is an overview of the song contest…

2018 Contest Results

Position Place Writers Song Title MP3
1 Platinum Charles T Cater Blown Tire
2 Gold Jim Arnegard Little Things
3 Silver Jason Matkin Pressing North
4 Bronze Stacy Kim Johnston
Savannah Philyaw
Break the Silence
5 Honorable Mention Travis Mason Beautiful Sight to See
6 Honorable Mention TJ Moss
Jonathan Walsh
Jackson Price
7 Honorable Mention Robert Warren West Wind
8 Honorable Mention Mary Ann Daugherty
Carl Baldassarre
Forever With You
9 Honorable Mention Queen Mab (Catherine Barnes) What You Know
10 Honorable Mention Mary Ann Daugherty
Carl Baldassarre
11 Honorable Mention Renate Daversa Oceans of You


Also, our thanks and appreciation to the judges for their time and willingness to be a part of this event. They did an excellent job.

  • Josquin des Pres
  • Margaret McClure
  • Billy Alexander
  • Tod Howarth


Thank You for the contest sponsors for their generosity and support


These companies support the cause of the San Diego Songwriter’s Guild. Their support is greatly appreciated.


Finally, great appreciation for the volunteers who gave their time and effort to make this event happen.

  • Sierra West
  • John Pape
  • Jeff Caldwell
  • Stacy Kim Johnston

Get your songs ready for next years song contest.

1 comment for “26th Annual Song Contest Results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *