24th Annual Song Contest Results

Song ContestSan Diego Songwriter’s Guild 24th Annual Song Contest was held Monday, November 16, 2015 at the La Jolla Brewing Company. The contest is a popular tradition for San Diego writers, and offers a unique opportunity to hear a tremendous cross section of local work by San Diego songwriters. Prize winners were selected by a panel of industry professionals, During the evening song entries were played for both judges and audience to hear. After all the songs were listened to, winners were announced, and prizes awarded.

Thanks to everyone who participated in the 24th annual song contest. All the songs entered were amazing. San Diego definitely has a lot of talent. Here is an overview of the song contest…


 Nothin’ Civil – Aubryn Stevens and Kiely Schlesinger


  • Signature Sound (3 classes)
  • Rancho Bohemia Studios
  • Listen Local
  • SDSG 1-Year Membership
  • Plaque


Lady About Town – Aubryn Stevens and Kiely Schlesinger


  • Signature Sound (2 classes)
  • Studio West Recording
  • Bandzoogle
  • SDSG 1-Year Membership
  • Plaque


Alright – Paul Coughlin, Morgan Leigh, Reuel Zavala, Eric Cihonski


  • Signature Sound (1 class)
  • West Coast Talent House
  • Freedom Guitar Package
  • SDSG 1-Year Membership
  • Plaque


Where Were You – Christine Parker


  • Signature Sound (1 class)
  • Rareified Recording

Special Prize winner

Ian Mc Cartor – Big West Music A&R Package

Honorable Mention

  • All These Things – Jason Matkin
  •  Boxes – Nina Francis
  •  I Love You Mommy – Terri Bendy-Hoth Andre Hoth
  • The Love That Got Away – Eric Smith
  •  Never Enough – Kendrick Dial, Michael Benedetto


Also, our thanks and appreciation to the judges for their time and willingness to be a part of this event. They did an excellent job.

  • Craig Goldy
  • Marc “Mookie” Kaczor
  • Peter Dyson
  • Tod Howarth
  • Margaret McClure


Thank You for the contest sponsors for their generosity and support


These companies support the cause of the San Diego Songwriter's Guild. Their support is greatly appreciated.


Finally, great appreciation for the volunteers who gave their time and effort to make this event happen.

  • Mark Hattersley
  • Diane Waters
  • John Pape
  • Jeff Caldwell
  • Stacy Johnston
  • Mike Wojinak
  • Chuck Philyaw

Get your songs ready for next years song contest.

1 comment for “24th Annual Song Contest Results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *