22nd Annual Song Contest Results

sierra west songwriterSan Diego Songwriter’s Guild 22nd Annual Song Contest was held Monday, November 4, 2013 at the Country Inn & Suites in Sorrento Valley. The contest is a popular tradition for San Diego writers, and offers a unique opportunity to hear a tremendous cross section of local work by San Diego songwriters. Prize winners were selected by a panel of industry professionals, During the evening song entries were played for both judges and audience to hear. After all the songs were listened to, winners were announced, and prizes awarded.
Thanks to everyone who participated in the 22th annual song contest.  All the songs entered were amazing.  San Diego definitely has a lot of talent. Here is an overview of the song contest…


  • Sierra West – It’s About Time
  • Savannah Philyaw – Daddy’s In The Navy
  • Marshall William Hattersley – Hymn to Still Waters
  • Sierra West – Split the Sky
Honorable Mention
  • Rex Hermogino – The Fountain Of Youth
  • Avalon Young – The Surface
  • Josh Damigo – Alright
  • Brian Darnell – The River
  • Brian Darnell – Lookin’ Like Rain
  • Savannah Philyaw – Unfinished Song
  • Chris Venti – Where Do We Go
  • Josh Damigo – Just Let Me Love You
  • Bob “Sully” Sullivan – All In This Time
  • Chris Carpenter – Up All Night


Also, our thanks and appreciation to the judges for their time and willingness to be a part of this event.  They did an excellent job.

  • Gregory Page
  • Diane Waters
  • Marc “Mookie” Kaczor
  • Josquin des Pres
  • Peter Dyson


Thank You for the contest sponsors for their generosity and support


Finally, great appreciation for the volunteers who gave their time and effort to make this event happen.
  • Tim Mudd
  • Mark Hattersley
  • Diane Waters
  • John Pape
  • Al Torres
  • Barb Hattersley
Get your songs ready for next years song contest.

1 comment for “22nd Annual Song Contest Results

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *